phpBB2Refugees.com Logo
Not affiliated with or endorsed by the phpBB Group

Register •  Login 

Continue the legacy...

Welcome to all phpBB2 Refugees!Wave Smilie

This site is intended to continue support for the legacy 2.x line of the phpBB2 bulletin board package. If you are a fan of phpBB2, please, by all means register, post, and help us out by offering your suggestions. We are primarily a community and support network. Our secondary goal is to provide a phpBB2 MOD Author and Styles area.

My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.2

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Search this topic... | Search General Support... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Index » General Support  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Vendethiel
Board Member



Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Posts: 194



PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 10:52 am 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

Your PHP version seems to be really low...
The error is that [] is a PHP syntax that was added in PHP 5.4, released in 2012.

You want to go to mysqli.php and replace L319, that should be this:
Code:
$result = [];

with this:
Code:
$result = array();

_________________
Developer on EzArena, the ADR premod.
Developer on Icy Phoenix, the phpBB hybrid cms.
Developer on IntegraMOD, the full-featured premod.
Help me archive premods on github! (fixed for recent PHPs).
Back to top
Lord Phobos
Board Member



Joined: 05 May 2020

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 1:33 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

In tow WORKS!!!

But only if I set the sql version to be very low, to 5.3.29.

It gives me this error at the bottom of the page, but it works!

Code:
Warning: mysql_query(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 38 Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 38 Warning: mysql_query(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 69 Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 69


How can I have it working with 5.6.32 too?
Back to top
StarWolf3000
Board Member



Joined: 10 Jun 2010

Posts: 152
Location: Germany


flag
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 1:34 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

You did not edit common.php and config.php.
Back to top
Lord Phobos
Board Member



Joined: 05 May 2020

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 2:07 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

How should I edit them? There's a code with the lines to be edited somewhere?
Back to top
StarWolf3000
Board Member



Joined: 10 Jun 2010

Posts: 152
Location: Germany


flag
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 2:30 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

The error indicates you're using the old mysql_* functions somehow, not the mysqli_*.
Back to top
Lord Phobos
Board Member



Joined: 05 May 2020

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2020 3:12 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

And it is found only in common and config php?
I have this in config.php:

Code:
$dbms = 'mysqli';
Back to top
Vendethiel
Board Member



Joined: 26 Oct 2014

Posts: 194



PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 10:13 am 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

Lord Phobos wrote:
In tow WORKS!!!

But only if I set the sql version to be very low, to 5.3.29.

It gives me this error at the bottom of the page, but it works!

Code:
Warning: mysql_query(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 38 Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 38 Warning: mysql_query(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 69 Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /web/htdocs/www.lordphobos.com/home/public/museocastello/includes/page_tail.php on line 69


How can I have it working with 5.6.32 too?
It looks like your mysql server is down. Or you're using the wrong url. What's your host set to? "localhost"?
_________________
Developer on EzArena, the ADR premod.
Developer on Icy Phoenix, the phpBB hybrid cms.
Developer on IntegraMOD, the full-featured premod.
Help me archive premods on github! (fixed for recent PHPs).
Back to top
Lord Phobos
Board Member



Joined: 05 May 2020

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 5:13 pm 
Post subject: Re: My webhost just force upgraded me from PHP 5.6 to PHP 7.

My sql server is up, I only changed SQL version back to 5.6.32.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Index » General Support  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 4 of 4 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 
Jump to:  

Index • About • FAQ • Rules • Privacy • Search •  Register •  Login 
Not affiliated with or endorsed by the phpBB Group
Powered by phpBB2 © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0264 seconds using 15 queries. (SQL 0.0028 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0228)
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Template Design by DeLFlo and MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo